Books: Silent Spring

I enjoyed Silent Spring very much. It was a heavily factual exposé, yet it kept my interest throughout by adding lots of detail and personal opinion. I already knew that Earth’s environment was not in good shape, however I did not know the extent of how toxic these pesticides and herbicides were. The only aspect of the book that I did not enjoy was how dated it was. Of course it was not Rachel Carson’s fault that all of her sources came from the late 50’s, but since it was a newer edition with an updated introduction and afterword. I was hoping the book would include footnotes with more recent studies in order to fully understand what is happening currently. This book left me with a lot of question that I hope to research on my own and I would highly recommend it to anyone who is looking to learn about the world around them.

Leave a Reply

